Writer or Author? Which one are you…and does it matter?

What shall I write today?One of our posters gave me pause recently and I got to thinking-how do you describe yourself? Are you a writer or an author? And what do you think the distinction is between the two? Novelist, Writer, Author?

5 responses to “Writer or Author? Which one are you…and does it matter?

  1. I know I’m a writer, and will be an author as soon as I’m published by a firm that’s absolutely giddy about my work and is contracting lucrative film and foreign rights for me. What are the parameters for calling oneself a novelist? I suppose that’s a high-brow way of declaring that one doesn’t deign to write short stories or, heaven forbid, essays. Certainly not memoirs. Never poetry. Just kidding, of course, because I don’t think a writer can limit themselves to this degree. Be interested in reading what others say.

    Vikki

    Like

Leave a Reply

